Cape of Good Soap : Rosewood and Mint soap

I had introduced the brand CAPE OF GOOD SOAP in a previous post. In Manisha’s words,

While, the products are organic and pro-nature, the USP of my line of products is customisation or personalisation as the products are created keeping the shoppers need/s in mind. This is one of its kind in India as I make every single product keeping the desired result in mind. 

Now the name is quite catchy and nice. I have been following their product line for a while and when I showed interest, Manisha was kind enough to send me few products.

In this post I am reviewing the rosewood and mint soap. Now all the 3 soaps she sent me have very interesting ingredients, some of which are new to me. For instance rose wood essential oil. Rosewood oil is used chiefly as a fragrance and flavouring ingredient. It is known for its uplifting and antiseptic nature.

Also this particular soap was suggested considering the oily nature of my t zone and dry patches on my knees.

cg1

Price : 310 Rs for 120gm

Ingredients : Himalayan Clay, Shea Butter, Hand crushed mint leaves, rosewood and mint essential oil, white glycerine base.

So this batch is not made by cold processing but from pre made soap base by Manisha.

Fragrance : The oil distilled from rosewood is recommended for taking care of dry, sensitive skin. This oil has a warm, sweetish woody aroma. Slight notes of mint also adds to the uplifting fragrance.

Texture : This is a solid bar of soap and is not pliable under strong hold, which I like about it. There is crushed mint leaves scattered on the soap but it is not scrubby or harsh.

Buy from here

cg3

My experience with the product :

The product looks really pretty with swirls and mint leaves on top with pretty pink colour. The soap lather is not heavy or creamy but quite light and frothy. It cleanses the skin pretty well. I stopped using all other cleansers and products on skin, except for my moisturiser so that I get to know the effects of the soap well.

This removes all hints of oiliness (himalayan clay plays its part well) and dirt from skin and leaves my face well cleansed without drying or stretching the skin. It remains oil free for quite long and face remains soft and smooth. Fragrance is also very different and uplifting. It is a relief after long day’s work. Also since the larger is light it gets washed off easily when used on face and hence doesn’t trouble the eyes.

It is not a creamy moisturising kind of soap but the kind that cleanses, clarifies and keeps oil at bay. Easy to cleanse off as well as there are no soft pieces falling off or sticking to skin.

One great thing is, it doesn’t melt easily and doesn’t just soften up and go mushy under hot/cold water. So products remains for longer keeping its shape.

Why I feel it is worth the price is, the soap stays for long. I have tried out decadent soaps that are rich but just gets used up so fast, because of its texture. This one even though bleeds the oils as I see in the monsoon now, is a solid piece of soap.

But this did not help with the dry patches on my knees even though it is perfect for my combination skin on face. Then again I don’t expect a soap to act as moisturiser.

I wouldn’t suggest this for people with dry skin.

Verdict :

I am very happy with the first product from the lot. This is a great soap for men and women, especially in summers. It gives a different experience than the usual herbal, chocolatey or floral/fruity soaps, owing to its unique ingredients. I feel this soap has a unisex fragrance that is perfect to relax after a long day. Mild and perfect as a facial soap for oily/combination skin types.

The brand offers customizations according to skin types and needs. So do check out their fb page(link given above).

The brand has sent the product as review sample but that has not affected my opinions in anyway and this is an honest review on the effectiveness of the product on my skin.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Cape of Good Soap : Rosewood and Mint soap

Leave a Reply

